Spirituality Resources


I have been creating a new page on my blog which I will be helpful to readers who wish to explore spirituality further.
This is where it is at the moment. Please drop me a comment if you think it could be improved! It is a work in progress and I will continue to add to it.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cropped-francis-and-the-crucifix.jpg

Franciscan Spirituality

Books

The Little Flowers of St. Franciswritten in the 14th century, about 100 years after the death of Francis, it tells the story of the Franciscan movement, not just of Francis of Assisi, showing the spirituality and defining moments of the early Franciscan brothers

Links on the Web

The First Life of St. Francis of Assisi – Thomas of Celano

The Life of St. Francis – St. Bonaventure

The Little Flowers of St. Francis – Note that this is a 1906 translation, so is not the easiest of reads! a more modern book version is a bit easier to read – I use the 1980s translation by Blaiklock and Keys

Benedictine Spirituality

Links on the Web

The Rule of St. Benedict

Carmelite Spirituality

Links on the Web

Constitutions of the Carmelite Order (1995)

Daily Spirituality

Psalms – Many Christian spiritual traditions say or sing Psalms every day as a regular practice. This link is to the Church of England’s website with all 150 Psalms. I like the uncluttered format.

Inspiring Spiritual Writers

I periodically blog on these and this is a list I am compiling writers who have helped me, and maybe their work will be of interest to others:

Sister Wendy Beckett

Thomas Merton

Henri Nouwen

Richard Rohr

Evelyn Underhill

Poetry and Spirituality

Poetry has been important to me since late adolescence, and these writers in particular I find continually inspiring:

T.S.Eliot

George Herbert

Thomas Traherne

Henry Vaughan

William Wordsworth

Art and Spirituality

Friedrich

Giotto

Michelangelo

Poussin

Rublev

Leave a comment